Unbelievable, a Windows machine!

The unbelievable has happened, I have added a windows machine to my work flow and I really like it! Because I work (still) in a windows dominated world I am obliged to work with Microsoft Windows although, as you will probably know by now, I am an Apple fan boy. I really hate working on, and moving around, the typical MS Windows work horses: big black ugly laptops, the standard issue for knowledge workers! Therefore I asked our IT departement if there was an alternative (knowing that a macbook air was out of the question). They came up with this:

lenovo

a Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet 2, actually the device I am writing this blogpost on. The device is somehow the same weight as an iPad Air and the battery lasts around 9-10 hours so pretty much a working day. It comes with a very nice (bluetooth) keyboard (accessory) and a perfectly working active stylus which sits in a stylus-bay in the machine.

With a docking station I have connected a monitor, mouse and keyboard to the Thinkpad when working at the office. The tablet 2 is configured with Windows 8.1 pro and is snappy for normal office applications.

So when it is necessary to work in a windows dominated environment this is a very portable yet workable setup. I really enjoy working with it and I couldn't imagine I would have said this for a windows machine!